How To Change the Authorized Adobe ID

What do you do if your copy of Adobe Digital Editions is authorized with the wrong Adobe ID? This can happen if you’ve started using a different Adobe ID or you somehow messed up the authorization in the past.

If you’re trying to open an ebook when Adobe Digital Editions is authorized with the wrong Adobe ID, you’ll get an error message like: “License fulfilled by a different user” or something similar referencing licensing or authorization.

Important note: If you have some ebooks that do require your current authorization, those will become unreadable if you authorize with a different Adobe ID.

deauthorize

The first thing to do is deauthorize Adobe Digital Editions. This will remove your current authorization.

1. Open Adobe Digital Editions

2. On your keyboard, simultaneously press the Ctrl, Shift, and D buttons (if on Windows) or the Cmd, Shift, and D buttons (if on a Mac)

3. Click the “Deauthorize” button

Deauthorize Adobe Digital Editions

4. After this you should close Adobe Digital Editions, and then open it again.

re-authorize

If you’ve followed the steps above, your copy of Adobe Digital Editions is no longer authorized.

1. Open Adobe Digital Editions

2. Adobe Digital Editions will behave as if you’ve just installed it, and will prompt you to enter your login information for your Adobe ID. Use the Adobe ID account information that you want to use to authorize Adobe Digital Editions.

Tags: , , ,

About The eBook Reader

I love reading and I love technology. eBooks are an interesting combination of the two.

13 responses to “How To Change the Authorized Adobe ID”

  1. Andrea says :

    Hi, I have to to change the adobe ID on my sony reader. The problem is that is not recognised by adobe digital editions so I can’t figure out a way to deactivate the old adobe ID.
    Do you know how to fix this?
    Thank you very much,
    Andrea

  2. tetesita says :

    ahahah thanks a lot!!!! i could resolve my trouble!!!! ahahaha

  3. Dani says :

    OMG!

    Cmd, Shift and D just worked perfectly. (:

    Thank you so much for your help!

    This website is awesome. 😀

  4. Deborah says :

    Overdrive for mobile uses some version of adobe. If you need to deactivate it is not possible to do control shift d. Any help would be appreciated. I have this problem on both overdrive for iPad and overdrive for Android phone.

  5. Grahame Robertson says :

    I have reauthorised my address on my new Netbook to the same as on my other computer so that they are both authorised to the same address BUT my net book will still not recognise my Sony ereader. It doesn’t appear in the ADE list on the left hand column HELP!

  6. Rebecca says :

    Thank you so much!!! So very useful, I thought I had lost all my e-books for good 🙂

  7. Barb nelson says :

    do I have to deauthorize to just change the email address?

  8. Fred says :

    does not work on my macbook pro [late 2011] using Lion OS

  9. Kristina says :

    Hello! A few mounts ago I bought a ebook from Libreria Rizzoli. Initialy I can read and print pages from it using the ADE program, after one update the print function stopped working. I changed my computer because of some tecnical problems with the hardware a weeek ago. And still today I can’t use my ebook. I downloaded the ADE program 2 of 3 times, it required me autentication of the computer, but after typing my ADOBE ID and password, I see onli “you vsn only authorize this computer with an ADOBE ID that hasn’t been previously used to authorize any other computer or mobile devices. please try again”. So, I used another my mail and the authorisation was completed. BUT, when I try to download and to open my ebook, another problem is avela available: “Error getting License. License Server Communication Problem: E_LIC_ALREADY_FULLFILLED_BY_ANOTHER_USER” Please, help me to resolve this problem, I urgently need my ebook for my upcoming graduation at the university.

  10. Jason says :

    How can i do this for the sony reader app?

Leave a comment